Regular Rambo!

your at a tavern and you meet a shadowy figure who looks at you and says…

Light at the End of the Tunnel

with one comment

It appears that my long weeks of unemployment are finally coming to an end.  A local restaurant, Hoss’s Steak and Sea House, has decided to hire me as a part time salad bar attendant.  The pay will be $7.25 per hour.

I am not in a position to turn down any type of job write now, so I will be going in on Monday evening, at 7:30pm EST, for my orientation.  I still need to keep looking for a better job however, as I need something full time, with benefits.  A higher wage would be nice as well.

I have a few potential leads on better jobs.  A local grocery store chain, Staufers of Kissel Hill, just interviewed me for a nursery sales clerk position, that would be full time, and pay $8.50 per hour to start.  This job likely wouldn’t begin until April, and there is no guarantee that they would still have work for me a few months down the road, but I would be willing to take that chance in order to get my foot in the door at Staufers.

I also just had an interview at a printing company called R.R. Donnelly.  They are a well established, successful company, that has been in our area for a long time.  They interviewed me for a forklift operator position, that would start at $11.90 per hour, plus $17.85 per hour on weekends.  I was really impressed by this company when I went there for my interview.  It was not at all what I expected from a “warehouse” position.  The people were very friendly and professional, the building was very clean, low noise, and climate controlled, and the interview itself was a casual, low pressure affair.  However, there are several candidates for this job, and only one spot available.

I also just found out about a telemarketing job that has become available in my area.  It can pay as much as $10.50 per hour if quotas are met.  I know how may people feel about telemarketing, understandably, but having done this type of thing before, I actually enjoy this type of work, so I am excited to explore this opportunity.

Unfortunately I have also received a couple rejection letters from companies I have interviewed with.  These have come from companies that do credit checks as part of there hiring process.  My credit is completely shot, and I don’t really see any hope of repairing it.  I  am not letting this get me down though.  I just have to have faith, and keep doing the right things, and eventually I will find a career path I can be proud of.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have faith in you and I know that someday you will find a job where you are happy and fulfilled. Until that happens we’ll just have to keep saving and working hard to get the hell out of here! I love you!

    rln2287

    February 11, 2008 at 10:09 am


Leave a Reply

