Regular Rambo!

your at a tavern and you meet a shadowy figure who looks at you and says…

Back to WordPress

leave a comment »

After a long time of doing my blogging in other places for all the wrong reasons, I have decided to come back to my wordpress blog.  After every other platform I have tried, I have never been happier, and never gotten more readers than I have right here on wordpress.

I have tried many free platforms, including blogger, myspace, and xanga, among others.  Of all of those, I have to say Xanga was the only decent one, and for a while, I was actually getting a few regular readers on  that site, but it just doesn’t have the flexibility and functionality of the WordPress platform.

My long absense from WordPress really started when I got this stupid idea that I wanted to blog for profit instead of for fun.  I needed a free platform that would let me host ads, so I chose blogger for it’s easy adsense integration.  I blogged there for almost a year, and made about two bucks.  The worst part was, pursuing the pipe dream of being a professional blogger took all the fun out of blogging.  So I took a brief brake from blogging all together, possibly never to return to the hobby.

It wasn’t until I decided to put up a site for my new D&D group, and decided to use WordPress.com for that site, that I remembered how much fun I had blogging on wordpress, and interacting with the community here.  So here I am, back at wordpress, and with no more pretensions of trying to become a professional blogger, or chasing any more get rich quick schemes.  I guess some lessons I just had to learn the hard way.

Now I am just a regular guy, trying to find a real job, and enjoying my hobby of blogging.

Written by dgarman

January 23, 2009 at 5:49 am

Leave a Reply

