Regular Rambo!

your at a tavern and you meet a shadowy figure who looks at you and says…

Getting Out of the House

with 2 comments

I am trying to think of new hobbies or activities I can participating that will meet certain criteria.  I am looking for fun, inexpensive activities that will get me out of the house and enable me to meet new and interesting people.  I want an engaging social experience.  I want something to exercise me mentally or physically.  In short, I need a new hobby, or at least to rekindle an old one.

Some possible candidates are joining a bowling league, taking up golf, joining some kind of book club or writers workshop, joining a religious organization, joining a civic organization, or getting back into marshal arts.  I am sure I can come up with some other ideas as well.  Right now, expense, driving distance, and schedule are key considerations.

If anyone, especially anyone locally, has any interesting ideas, please do share.  It’s just that I have now been single and unemployed for a while, and cooped up around the house allot.  Most of the things I do to pass the time don’t get me out of the house or interacting with other people, nor do they enrich my life in any way.  I have been spending allot of time playing video games, which is what I really want to cut back on.  I have also spent time exercising, doing house work, and practicing guitar, which isn’t a total waste of time.  I have even started writing songs again.  I am trying to continue my trend of positive activities, it’s just that these are all solo activities, and don’t really get me out of the house.  I do have an offer from a friend to come and play guitar with me some time, and my room mate occasionally wants bass lessons from me, but even these things pretty much just involve a couple of guys just sitting around the house, and aren’t a great way to meet girls and such.

Like I said, let me know if you have any cool ideas I should look into, and I will keep you all posted on what I come up with.

Written by dgarman

January 25, 2009 at 12:55 am

Posted in personal

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, golf is going to be an expensive hobby. I meet a lot of people in volunteer organizations whether they be religious or community-based. That is the best way to meet people and make connections that could lead to future jobs. I have always found volunteering a great resource for personal satisfaction, and even if you only do it once or twice a week you start to build a community of like-minded people who will be willing to help you out. Good luck!

    possum1027

    January 26, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    • Yeah, I figured, of all the things I had listed, golf would likely be the most expensive, with green fees in my area starting around $25 for 18 holes. As for volunteer activities, I agree that may be the way to go, so I am looking into some different things.

      dgarman

      January 27, 2009 at 2:19 am


Leave a comment